Fans, white noise, music, TV and outdoor sounds keep me from having to listen to the screeching in my ears all day.  However if I do wind up in a totally quiet location, the ringing can come back and is sometimes difficult to suppress it again.  So I try to avoid allowing the ringing to come into my conscious awareness.  (This is part of my general philosophy of refusing to listen to tinnitus.)

When I do find myself in a very quiet space (certain rooms in my home, my closet, etc) I don’t really have access to a fan or other white noise.  What I will sometimes do is “beat box” to myself.  If you don’t know what that is, it’s simply making drum noises with your mouth.  I have no skill as a beat boxer, but I can make clicking noises and make up drum rhythms.  You can also hum or whistle a tune.  I suppose it’s possible I could use it to my advantage and try to become a proficient beat box artist!